Healthy and Well Being – Am I allergic to gluten?
As more and more people are going gluten-free, you might be wondering what is going on. Also known as seitan, gluten is, a protein found primarily in wheat, barley and rye. The name gluten is derived from the Latin word for ‘glue’; it is often used in the dough of bread, noodles, and cakes to give a chewy texture. Gluten allergies or intolerance can cause problems with the digestive system, resulting in gas and bloating. Celiac disease is the most severe form of gluten intolerance, with symptoms like inflammation of the small intestine, malabsorption, fatigue, and itchy skin rash (dermatitis herpetiformis). Nutrition information source: Registered Dietitian at Hong Kong Adventist Hospital
Healthy and Well Being – What can I eat if I have a gluten allergy?A gluten allergy is an allergy to the protein found in wheat, barley and rye. People who are allergic to gluten must therefore avoid bread and pasta made with wheat, and should eat more fruits, vegetables, legumes, seeds and nuts. For carbohydrates, they can choose rice noodles that are made purely with rice, quinoa, buckwheat or other gluten-free flours. In Asian cuisine, in general, rice is the main food, so it is suitable for people with gluten allergies, but make sure seasonings and other ingredients are gluten-free; for instance, choose a gluten-free soy sauce. Nutrition information source: Registered Dietitian at Hong Kong Adventist Hospital
Healthy and Well Being – Noodles made of vegetables?People who are allergic to gluten cannot eat noodles made from wheat; however, they can have noodles that are made purely from rice or “zoodles” (a name derived from zucchini and noodles). Just shred vegetables like courgette or red carrot into noodle-like strands or spirals, then mix with any kind of sauce, such as pesto, and the freshly made zoodles are ready to serve, with no cooking required! Nutrition information source: Registered Dietitian at Hong Kong Adventist Hospital
You have no items in your cart